Collectors Exposed : Is this Kosher? - Collectors Exposed

Jump to content

Welcome to Collectors Exposed

Welcome to Collectors Exposed , like most online communities you must register to post in our community, plus there is more valuable content available to members.  But don't worry this is a simple process that requires minimal information. Take advantage of it immediately, Register Now or Sign In.

As a member you can:

  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Add events to our community calendar
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Customize your experience here
  • View forums which have content only available to members
  • Obtain access to "self help" information, such as sample pleadings and the like
  • Obtain access to valuable case law we have compiled
Guest Message by DevFuse
Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Is this Kosher? Reply to a post of mine from creditor

#1 User is offline   hadenough 

  • Newbie
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 03-November 09

Posted 21 February 2012 - 04:10 PM

This a copy of a reply to my post in "Resources", titled "Debt turned over to Javitch,..." Is this kosher for them to contact me in a forum like this? I would like to contact GE Money Bank if they're willing work this out, but I'm not sure about them contacting me here like this. Also, I wanted to make you aware if you weren't already that they are using this technique here.

Posted 07 February 2012 - 08:29 PM

I work for GE Capital (formally GE Money) and saw your post. We'd like to research your account and see how we may assist. Please email me at gecapitalcares@ge.com with the following information:

- The full name associated with the account
- Mailing address associated with the account
- Your contact phone number
- Reference code DM 020711_ce_Amazon

For your security, please do not include your account number in your email.

Regards,
Nicole
GE Capital

0

#2 User is offline   Cada 

  • Advanced Member
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 747
  • Joined: 06-June 10
  • LocationBetween a rock and a hard spot.

Posted 21 February 2012 - 10:42 PM

It's not unusual or uncommon for creditors or collectors to use sites like this to get an idea of what's being said but it's the first time I've ever seen a creditor use this type of direct solicitation here. If you decide you want to work something out it might be better to contact GE directly rather than giving information to someone you don't know.
0

#3 User is offline   Dunned Again 

  • Advanced Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 134
  • Joined: 15-January 11
  • LocationTexas

Posted 22 February 2012 - 06:55 PM

View Posthadenough, on 21 February 2012 - 04:10 PM, said:

This a copy of a reply to my post in "Resources", titled "Debt turned over to Javitch,..." Is this kosher for them to contact me in a forum like this? I would like to contact GE Money Bank if they're willing work this out, but I'm not sure about them contacting me here like this. Also, I wanted to make you aware if you weren't already that they are using this technique here.


Is this a CA working for the OC? If it were me I would ask for validation (state and FDCPA) to make sure they are who they say they are before commiting to any agreements.
0

#4 User is offline   hadenough 

  • Newbie
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 03-November 09

Posted 22 February 2012 - 07:04 PM

View PostDunned Again, on 22 February 2012 - 06:55 PM, said:

Is this a CA working for the OC? If it were me I would ask for validation (state and FDCPA) to make sure they are who they say they are before commiting to any agreements.


Javitch is a CA. I don't know who this is claiming to be from GE. I'm not even going to contact her. I have contact info for OC. I just wanted someone to know that they're trying to drum up sales here. If this site sells advertising, then they are skirting around the system.
0

#5 User is offline   Dunned Again 

  • Advanced Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 134
  • Joined: 15-January 11
  • LocationTexas

Posted 23 February 2012 - 03:30 PM

View Posthadenough, on 22 February 2012 - 07:04 PM, said:

Javitch is a CA. I don't know who this is claiming to be from GE. I'm not even going to contact her. I have contact info for OC. I just wanted someone to know that they're trying to drum up sales here. If this site sells advertising, then they are skirting around the system.

They arn't skirting around the system, CA's will use any medium they can unless a limited or full decease and disist letter is sent to them. If it were me, I would send a validation request if they made inital contact with me though any medium with any message implicit or explicit... but that is me.

This post has been edited by Dunned Again: 23 February 2012 - 03:31 PM

0

#6 User is offline   hadenough 

  • Newbie
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 03-November 09

Posted 23 February 2012 - 03:36 PM

View PostDunned Again, on 23 February 2012 - 03:30 PM, said:

They arn't skirting around the system, CA's will use any medium they can unless a limited or full decease and disist letter is sent to them. If it were me, I would send a validation request if they made inital contact with me though any medium with any message implicit or explicit... but that is me.


I worded my reply wrong. By contacting me through this forum, the CA is trying to gain commissions. This is the same as an advertisement. I do some work on another forum site. Our policy is that if you want to try and sell something, you need to pay for advertising on our site. Anybody that offers to sell something without paying for it is considered a spammer on our site and banned. Again, in this particular post, I was just trying to alert an administrator that his was going. I have an original post where I was asking how to deal with them, to which I got some very helpful answers.
0

#7 User is offline   Cada 

  • Advanced Member
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 747
  • Joined: 06-June 10
  • LocationBetween a rock and a hard spot.

Posted 23 February 2012 - 10:32 PM

View Posthadenough, on 23 February 2012 - 03:36 PM, said:

I worded my reply wrong. By contacting me through this forum, the CA is trying to gain commissions. This is the same as an advertisement. I do some work on another forum site. Our policy is that if you want to try and sell something, you need to pay for advertising on our site. Anybody that offers to sell something without paying for it is considered a spammer on our site and banned. Again, in this particular post, I was just trying to alert an administrator that his was going. I have an original post where I was asking how to deal with them, to which I got some very helpful answers.

I'm asking someone higher up to look at the post and make a decision. I do find it strange for GE to try to make contact rather than the CA hired by them to collect. My experience has been once an OC turns something over to a CA, they don't want anything to do with you until the issue is resolved.
0

#8 User is offline   Linx04 

  • The Enforcer
  • Group: Members.
  • Posts: 7075
  • Joined: 16-September 06
  • LocationLeft of Asset and Right of Midland

Posted 26 February 2012 - 09:52 AM

Sorry I just got around to seeing this. I have traced the users IP that posted the message on the forum, and it is not leading back to GE. Major companies like GE use their own IP's. Moreover, the IP is tracing back to New York and not to Phoenix, where the user says they are from.


I would not send any information to the poster. They claim to be from GE, but in my opinion they are not. I am sending said user and e-mail to see if I can confirm.
0



Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic


Copyright © Collectors Exposed / collectorsexposed.com. 2009 - 2011 All Rights Reserved.

 Maintained by Justice SEO & Web Services